• The Book of Lies

Written by the famed English occultist Aleister Crowley, The Book of Lies was first published in 1913. The book includes 93 chapters, each of which consists of one page of text. The chapters include a question mark, poems, rituals, instructions, and obscure allusions and cryptograms. The subject of each chapter is generally determined by its number and its corresponding qabalistic meaning.

“Sometimes the text is serious and straightforward,” writes Crowley of The Book of Lies, “sometimes its obscure oracles demand deep knowledge of the Qabalah for interpretation, others contain obscure allusions, play upon words, secrets expressed in cryptogram, double or triple meaning which must be combined in order to appreciate the full flavour; others again are subtly ironical or cynical. At first sight the book is a jumble of nonsense intended to insult the reader. It requires infinite study, sympathy, intuition and initiation. Given these I do not hesitate to claim that in none other of my writings have I given so profound and comprehensive an exposition of my philosophy.”

This beautiful edition of Aleister Crowley’s witty and instructive collection of paradoxes is a faithful retyped print (no scans) of the original work dated 1913. As so, the commentaries have been left out.

5.5" x 8.5" (13.3 x 20.3 cm)
Unicursal, 120 pages

ISBN-13: 978-2-89806-452-4
ISBN-10: 2898064521

The Book of Lies


  • Disponibilité : En stock
  • $15.95

Formats disponibles